IGNOU

MINUTES OF THE SIXTY-SEVENTH MEETING OF THE BOARD OF MANAGEMENT HELD ON AUGUST 24, 2000 AT 4.000 P.M. AT INDIA INTERNATIONAL CENTRE, NEW DELHI

The following members were present:

- (1) Prof. Abdul W. Khan, Vice-Chancellor Chairman
- (2) Prof. V.S. Prasad
- (3) Shri M.K. Kaw (participated in the meeting through conference call)
- (4) Prof. A.K. Agarwal
- (5) Dr. J.M. Parakh
- (6) Dr. D.K. Choudhry

Shri K.J.S. Prasada Rao, Registrar

Secretary

Shri Y.N. Chaturvedi, Secretary, Information & Broadcasting could not attend the meeting.

BM 67.1.1.

The meeting commenced at 4.00 P.M. The Education Secretary Shri M.K. Kaw informed that owing to an urgent meeting with the Minister, he will not be able to present physically and requested the Vice-Chancellor that he will participate through a conference call, thus constituting the quorum required. Accordingly, after the meeting started, he was contacted on telephone and discussions were held regarding the names to be nominated on the Search Committee for the selection of Vice-Chancellor. The Vice-Chancellor informed that this emergent meeting was called because one of the members nominated by the Board earlier, viz. Mr. Justice J.S. Verma conveyed his regret to serve on the Committee. Prof. V.C. Kulandai Swamy, the other nominated member has, however, conveyed his acceptance. After discussions in the meeting as also through a conference call to Shri M.K. Kaw, the consensus emerged was that the following two names be kept as a panel and if

the first person declines, the second person may be contacted:

- 1. Prof. N.C. Nigam, Chairman, AICTE
- 2. Prof. Goverdhan Mehta, Director, Indian Institute of Science, Bangalore
- BM 67.1.2.

It was decided in the meeting that Shri M.K. Kaw's signature will be obtained in the attendance register to confirm his participation through conference call.

BM 67.1.3

It was further decided that the decision of nomination taken in the meeting be circulated to the members through these minutes and obtain their signatures.

The meeting ended with a vote of thanks to the Chair.

(Prof. Abdul W. Khan)

Chairman

(Prof. V.S. Prasad)

Member

(Shri M.K. Kaw)

Member

(Prof. A.K. Agarwal)

Member

(Dr. J.M. Parakh)

Member

(Dr. D.K. Choudhry)

Member