A | A- | A+
Screen Reader Access
Updated on 29 Dec, 2022

The School of Humanities had its genesis at the 8th meeting of the Board of Management, held on the 20th May, 1988 (Item 8.10). The Mandate of the School was to develop and offer academic programmes not only in English and Hindi but in other Indian languages as well in order to perpetuate the larger vision and mission of the University.
PhD, Masters, Bachelors Degree Programmes are offered by the four disciplines: English, Hindi, Sanskrit and Urdu along with PG Diploma in Book Publishing, Diploma in Creative Writing in English, Diploma in Urdu, Certificate in the Teaching of English as a Second Language, Certificate in Functional English and Certificate in Urdu Language.
Courses in 19 Modern Indian languages have been designed and developed by the School. These are English, Hindi, Sanskrit, Urdu, Odia, Gujarati, Malayalam, Punjabi, Marathi, Telugu, Tamil, Kannada, Bengali, Assamese, Bhojpuri, Maithili, Kashmiri, Nepali and Manipuri. 
The following aspects are covered in the overall process of programme development:
Basic programmes in various languages at the Under Graduate and Post Graduate level to strengthen the foundation as well as application oriented programmes in the BDP basket.
Short, medium and long term courses focusing on the vocational and professional needs of ODL students.
Various academic initiatives, events and activities to encourage a more creative response from all the stake-holders in an inter-disciplinary framework.
•  Promotion of our traditional knowledge systems, in tandem with the NEP requirements.
The School of Humanities has developed new courses under the CBCS scheme following the stipulations of the UGC.



Subscribe for Updates

[Updated on 11-Jul-2024]