A | A- | A+
Screen Reader Access
Updated on 08 Jan, 2022

Click here for any query related to Science Courses
The School of Sciences started functioning in 1986, with the challenge of imparting good quality theoretical and practical education in four science disciplines, namely, Physics, Chemistry, Mathematics and Life Sciences.
In December, 1991, the School launched the Bachelor of Science Programme-one of its kind in the country involving teaching of theory and laboratory courses in science through distance and open learning mode.
The programme was initially designed to offer a B.Sc. (General) degree, but was subsequently upgraded so as to offer a B.Sc. (Major) degree in Botany, Chemistry, Mathematics, Physics and Zoology. The Master’s programme in Mathematics with Applications in Computer Science [M.Sc. (MACS)] was launched in the year 2008. The School offers several niche programmes for professional and skill development such as the PG Diploma in Analytical Chemistry (PGDAC), Diploma in Aquaculture (DAQ), Certificate Programme in Teaching of Primary School Mathematics (CTPM), Certificate Programme in Laboratory Techniques (CPLT) as well as a general awareness programme and a course, namely, the PG Diploma in Environment and Sustainable Development (PGDESD) and Appreciation Course on Environment (ACE).
Doctoral programmes are also offer in the Disciplines of Chemistry, Life Sciences, Mathematics and Physics. In the year 2009, four new disciplines were added to the School, namely, Geography, Geology, Biochemistry and Statistics and now doctoral programmes are on offer in these disciplines as well.
The School has also collaborated with the School of Social Sciences and School of Education in launching the Certificate Programme in Environmental Studies (CES) and the Post Graduate Certificate in Professional Development of Teachers (PGCPDT), respectively. Some of the courses prepared by the School also form part of PGDIPR, BPP, BA, B.Com, BCA, BIT, B.Sc. (Nursing), BTS and MCA programmes.
The functions of the School are to:
a)     Plan, develop and offer academic programmes at the certificate, diploma, undergraduate, post-graduate, doctoral and awareness levels.
b)    Encourage research in discipline-based as well as systemic areas.
c)     Collaborate in the development of programmes/courses offered by other Schools of the University.
d)    Print course materials developed in the School.
e)     Provide learner support using electronic media and ICT tools.
f)     Participate in the development and monitoring of student support services.
g)    Provide consultancy to organisations and training to individuals, sponsored by national and international agencies.
h)    Organise and participate in workshops, conferences and seminars sponsored by National and International agencies with a view to         improve transaction of science curriculum.
Development of Self-Instructional Study Material 
The School has developed more than 100 courses so far, of which 16 Courses are on offer in M.Sc. (MACS), 63 courses in the B.Sc. programme in both English and Hindi medium, 8 Courses in PGDESD, 8 courses in PGDAC, 6 courses in DAQ, 4 courses in CPLT, 2 courses in CTPM and 1 course in Appreciation Course on Environment. The experimental component of M.Sc. (MACS), B.Sc., PGDAC, DAQ and CPLT programmes is provided through innovatively designed laboratory courses.
The School offers following programmes:
Doctoral Degree (Click Here For Details)
Master's Degree
Bachelor's Degree
PG and Advance Diploma
PG and Advance Certificate
Appreciation Programmes
Subscribe for Updates

[Updated on 06-Dec-2022]