A | A- | A+
Screen Reader Access
Brainstorming Session
Government of India
Ministry of Communication & IT
Department of IT 
Schedule for IT Mass Literacy Workshop on Friday, July 15, 2011

Venue : Convention Hall, IGNOU, Maidan Garhi, New Delhi – 110 068
9:30 am to 10:00 am
10:00 am to 10:45 am
Opening Ceremony
  • Welcome Address by: Prof. K.R Srivathsan, Pro VC, IGNOU
  • Overview and Outline of the Workshop by Dr B.K. Murthy, HOD (HRD), Department of IT, Government of India
  • Opening Remarks by Dr. C. Muralikrishna Kumar, Sr. Advisor (C&IT), Planning Commission
  • Presided by: Prof. V.N Rajasesharan Pillai, Vice Chancellor, IGNOU
  • Chief Guest: Shri N Ravi Shanker, Additional Secretary, Department of IT, Government of India
  • Vote of Thanks by: Dr. V.S.P. Srivastav, Head(Computer Division, IGNOU
10:45 am to 11:00 am
Tea Break
Session I
11:00 am to 12:00 pm
IT Mass Literacy – Issues pertaining to Definitions, Standards & Levels
  • Chairman: Shri L Balasubramanian, President – NIIT Skills Initiative
  • Dr. V.S.P. Srivastav, Head, Computrt Division, IGNOU
  • Ms. Rita Soni, CEO, NASSCOM
  • Shri G. Raghavan, NIIT
  • Shri P.N Sridharan, Head – Training and Development, CDAC - Chennai
  • Ms. Shweta Khurana, Manager Education – K12 for Corporate Affairs Group, Intel India
  • Dr B.K. Murthy, HOD(HRD), Department of IT, Government of India
Session II
12:00 pm to 1:00 pm
Strategy & Approach for developing IT Mass Literacy Courses
  • Chairman: Prof. K.R Srivathsan, Pro VC, IGNOU
  • Dr. V.N Walivadekar, ED, DOEACC Socity
  • Prof. Manohar Lal, Director(SOCIS), IGNOU
  • Ms Shweta Khurana, Regional Manager South Asia, Intel
  • Shri Naresh Ajwani, MD & CEO, Viom Networks
  • Rep. of Yahoo
  • Shri K. Chatterjee, Vice President, Career Development Centre, HCL Info Systems.
1:00 pm to 2:00 pm
Session III
2:00 pm to 3:00 pm
Delivery of IT Literacy Courses – Reaching The Masses, Identification of Stake Holders
  • Shri M.K.Yadav, MD, AMTRON, ASSAM
  • Shri Venkatesh Hariharan, Google India
  • Shri Osama Manzar, Digital Empowerment Foundation
  • Shri Anupam Saronwala, program Director, IBM Research India
  • Shri Deepak Maheashwari, Director, Corporate Office, Microsoft India
3:00 pm to 3:00 pm
Tea Break
Session IV
3:15 pm to 4:15 pm
Implementation Strategy for IT Mass Literacy
  • Chairman: Dr. Ajai Kumar, Joint Secretary, Department of IT, Government of India
  • Shri J.S.Raju, Joint Secretary, MHRD
  • Dr. K. Subaramanian, Director(ACIIL), IGNOU
  • Shri Shashi Bhusan, Associate Professor, SOCIS, IGNOU
  • Ms. Bhavna Chopra, National Skill Development Corporation
  • Shri Santosh Choubey, Chairman SRG Bhopal & AISECT Group
4:15 pm to 4:45 pm
  • Prof. V N Rajasekharan Pillai, VC, IGNOU; Shri N.Ravi Shanker, Additional Secretary, Department of IT, Government of India; Chairmen of all Sessions
  • Vote of Thanks: HOD (HRD), DIT


Subscribe for Updates

[Updated on 22-May-2024]